2022 News & Events Archive

NCRP Comment

The National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP) stands with the Ukrainian people. We continue to monitor the situation in Ukraine with concern for the safety of the population and the nation’s nuclear power stations. The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) is part of the United Nations and is the international center for cooperation with the Member States worldwide to promote the safe, secure and peaceful use of nuclear technologies. IAEA’s website and twitter feed are excellent sources for updates regarding the status of radiological conditions in Ukraine.


November 6-12, 2022, is National Radiation Protection Professionals Week

Read More

2022 Annual Meeting

Program >

Program Summary >

45th L.S. Taylor Lecture
Gayle Woloschak
18th W.K. Sinclair Keynote
Joe W. Gray
5th T.S. Tenforde Topical Lecture
Jill A. Lipoti
J.D. Boice, Jr. Young Investigator Award
Sara Dumit

Fact check: No evidence 5G networks have ‘enormous impact’ on immune system

Dr. Bushberg & other experts say that, while more research is needed, there is no evidence 5G has an adverse effect on the immune system.

[Read in USA TODAY: Fact check: Claim about 5G and immune system is unproven (].

IEEE Newsletter

Dr. Bushberg writes article on NCRP for IEEE Newsletter (see page 8).

In Memoriam

Marvin C. Ziskin October 1, 1936 – October 22, 2022


Council Members in the News

At it’s Annual Business Meeting on Monday, October 17, 2022, the Radiation Research Society introduced its Inaugural Class of Fellows of the Radiation Research Society (FRSS). The new RRS Fellows include numerous NCRP Members and Distinguished Emeritus Members: Sally Amundson, Ed Azzam, Joel Bedford, Ellie Blakely, John Boice, Norm Coleman, Kathy Held, Amy Kronenberg and Bob Ullrich.
NCRP members receive awards at the HPS Annual Meeting. NCRP President, Kathy Held, received the G. William Morgan Award, John Till was recognized for 50 years of HPS membership, and Dan Blumenthal [above left] was presented the HPS Homeland Security and Emergency Response Section Award by Section President, Bill Irwin [on right]
NCRP Director of Science, Past President, and current Council member, John D. Boice, Jr., will be presenting the 2022 Dunster Lecture and made an Honorary Fellow of the Society for Radiological Protection during the SRP Annucal Conference in June
Council member, X. George Xu, to be honored with the 2022 International Organization for Medical Physics Award of Merit in Medical Physics
Council Member, Donald L. Miller , was made an Honorary Member of the International Organization for Medical Physics on January 11, 2022, for “significant contributions in support of the development of medical physics”
MaheshCouncil Member, Mahadevappa Mahesh , has been elected to serve on ICRP Committee 3 on Radiological Protection in Medicine
Council member and HPS President, Eric Goldin, on health physics …
Council members, Armin Ansari, William Kennedy, & Adela Salame-Alfie received an Outstanding Achievement Award from the Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors for their participation on the Task Force to Develop Workshop & Guidance on Radiation Protection Issues Related to TENORM
PAC 7 Scientific Vice President Randall N. Hyer has co-authored a risk communication guide for state health officials – COVID-19: Simple Answers to Top Questions [updated weekly]


NCRP Report No. 185, Evaluating and Communicating Radiation Risks for Studies Involving Human Subjects: Guidance for Researchers and Institutional Review Boards

Back to Top
Last modified: March 31, 2023