2019 News & Events Archive

2019 Annual Meeting

2019 Annual Meeting, NCRP Meeting the Challenge at 90: Providing Best Answers to Your Most Pressing Questions about Radiation, April 1-2 in Bethesda, Maryland




President Selected

Kathryn D. Held selected as NCRP’s Sixth President

In Memoriam

John C. Villforth, December 28, 1930 – September 14, 2019
Thomas S. Tenforde, December 15, 1940 – September 6, 2019
Chambers Charles E. Chambers, August 20, 1954 – June 9, 2019
John F. Ahearne, June 14, 1934 – March 12, 2019

Council Members in the News

Council member, Dr. Stephen Balter, presented a copy of NCRP Report No. 184 to Dr. Linda Chambers in honor of her late husband, Dr. Charles Chambers, a member of the committee that wrote the report. Dr. Chambers passed away in June 2019 before the report was published.
NCRP Council Member Dr. J. Anthony Seibert has received the 2019 RSNA Gold Medal! The Gold Medal is RSNA’s highest honor & is awarded annually to persons who, in the judgment of the RSNA’s Board of Directors, have rendered unusual service to the science of radiology.
Dr. Mahadevappa Mahesh, Co-Chair of SC 4-9, presents the conclusions of NCRP Report No. 184, Medical Radiation Exposure of Patients in the United States, at the RSNA meeting in Chicago [photo courtesy of Gary Guebert].
NCRP co-sponsored a Symposium on the Million Person Study at the 65th Annual Meeting of the Radiation Research Society in San Diego, November 3, 2019
[left to right] John Till, Larry Dauer, Sergei Tolmachev, Ashley Golden, Kathy Held, Dale Preston, John Boice, & Steve Simon
[left to right] Sergei Tolmachev, Betsy Ellis, Joey Zhou, Larry Dauer, Rich Leggett, David Girardi, Michael Bellamy, Sara Howard, Ashley Golden, Mike Mumma, Caitlin Milder, Maia Avtandilashvili, Caleigh Samuels, Keith Eckerman, John Boice NCRP directs the 7th Million Person Workshop in Oak Ridge, and also holds a meeting of Scientific Committee 6-12 on Development of Models for Brain Dosimetry for Internally Deposited Radionuclides
Eleanor Blakey, NCRP Distinguished Emeritus Member, received the ICRU Gray Medal from ICRU Commission Member, Søren Bentzen, at the ICRR meeting in Manchester, England
Council members attend the ICRR 2019 in Manchester, UK
[left to right] Polly Chang, Marc Mendonca (Radiation Research editor), John Boice, Kathy Held, Sally Amundson, & Michael Story
First meeting of SC 1-27 on “Evaluation of Sex-Specific Differences in Lung Cancer Radiation Risks and Recommendations for Use in Transfer and Projection Models” was held August 13–14 at the NCRP Headquarters in Bethesda
Left to right: (seated) Dale L. Preston, Steve Blattnig (NASA Technical Advisor), David J. Pawel, Michael D. Story; (standing) John D. Boice, Jr., Eric J. Grant, Linda Walsh, Michael M. Weil (Chair), Kathryn D. Held (NCRP President); (not shown) Lawrence T. Dauer, David G. Hoel, Janice L. Huff, Mikhail Sokolnikov, Richard Wakeford, Lydia Zablotska, R. Julian Preston (Advisor), Werner Rühm (Advisor), Marvin Rosenstein (Staff Consultant)
NCRP President Kathy Held recently had the honor of celebrating 90th birthdays of Consociate Members Herman Suit and Edward Epp.
Congratulations to Council member, Kimberly E. Applegate, she was made an Honorary Member of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine — “Honorary membership into the AAPM is bestowed upon individuals to recognize distinguished service that they have done in other societies that supports medical physics. Thus the award not only honors the individual but also strengthens the links between the AAPM and the other society.”
NCRP Emeritus Member, Richard E. Toohey, received the HPS Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award at the Orlando Annual Meeting. NCRP President Kathryn D. Held (left) and Dick’s wife, Beverly (right) at the ceremony.
Council Members Jessica Wieder, John Boice, Kathy Held, & Jerry Bushberg attend the HPS 2019 Annual Meeting in Orlando, FL
NCRP Council Members Represent the USA at the Annual UNSCEAR Meeting
Congratulations to Council members, Sally Admundson, newly elected Vice President Elect of the Radiation Research Society, and Evagelia Laiakis on receiving the RRS Jack Fowler Award!!
NCRP President Kathy Held and Scientific Director John Boice attend and direct the 6th Workshop for the Million Person Study In Oak Ridge. L-R: Caitlin Milder (Vanderbilt), Keith Eckerman (ret. ORNL), Betsy Ellis (ORISE), Ken Veniot (Y12), Caleigh Samuels (ORNL), Rich Leggett (ORNL), Ashley Golden (ORISE), Mike Mumma (IEI-Vanderbilt), Sara Howard (ORISE), Kathryn Held (NCRP/MGH), David Girardi (ORISE), John Boice (NCRP/Vanderbilt), and Donna Cragle (ORISE)
NCRP Director of Science, John Boice, makes an invited presentation at NASA’s Applied Space Environments Conference in Los Angeles, May 13-17, 2019, on Using Terrestrial Epidemiology to Understand Space Radiation Risks
John Boice (NCRP Director of Science) presented the Herbert M. Parker Lecture in Richland, Washington on April 10, 2019. Herb was a charter member of NCRP (1964), the first L.S. Taylor Lecturer (1977), and served on numerous scientific committees. He was a pioneer in radiation protection and safety and was the first head of the Hanford Laboratories (now Battelle Pacific Northwest National Laboratory).
Council Member, John J. Lanza, has been appointed to the EPA’s Science Advisory Board Radiation Advisory Committee
BlakelyE Distinguished Emeritus Member, Eleanor A. Blakely, to receive 20th ICRU Gray Medal
NCRP Council Members—Eleanor Blakely, Polly Chang, John Boice, Edouard Azzam, and Amy Kronenberg—participate in the 2019 NASA Human Research Program in Galveston, Texas on Human Exploration and Discovery: The Moon, Mars and Beyond

Congratulations to NCRP Council Members Jessica Wieder and Brooke Buddemeier on becoming TED educators on how to survive nuclear fallout. Take five minutes to learn the science of how “get inside, stay inside, stay tuned” can save your life. Please share.
Back to Top
Last modified: January 21, 2020