The National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP) is made up of the Council Members, the Distinguished Emeritus Members, and Consociate Members.

Council Members number 100 and are elected to six-year terms with the terms of approximately 14 members expiring each year. They are selected on the basis of their scientific expertise. They are entitled to vote on all matters acted upon by the members and are thus sometimes identified as voting members.

Distinguished Emeritus Members are elected in recognition of distinguished service to the Council.

Consociate Members are individuals who have served as Council Members at some time in the past. Those currently serving as members, Distinguished Emeritus Members, and Consociate Members are identified in the Council’s annual report, which is released at the time of the annual meeting each year.

Distinguished Emeritus and Consociate Members are not voting members.

The policy-making body of the Council is the Board of Directors which consists of the President, the Senior Vice President, and nine other Council members, all of whom are elected each year by the Council Members. Current officers and directors are also identified in the annual report.

There are approximately 20 scientific committees drafting reports along with a number of ad hoc groups and administrative committees. These are identified in the annual report.

Back to Top
Last modified: May 25, 2015